Learning Theories Reflection

I have been a lover of technology since I was five years old. I found many things that surprised me when I did the Learning Theories and Instruction course at the Walden University. I knew that theorist studied the way people learn, but the wealth of information was unknown.  Many of the theorist I read spoke on the way learning and transfer has uncovered important principles for structuring learning experiences that enable people to use what they have learned in new settings claiming that environment is the biggest factor” (Ertmer & Newby, 1993, p. 56). I agree I realize that things I studied in high school came back to in different learning situations, which was great as I was given a chance to use prior knowledge to master and build upon what I was being taught.  

 I am an adult learner I have many challenges I am a mother, a teacher and I am aspiring to be the first member of my family with a doctorate.  I want to be able to give back and make a positive difference with all my students, peers and family. ‘Learning happens only when there is reflective thought and internal processing by the learner, in a way that actively makes sense of an experience and links is to previous learning.’ Foley, G. 2004 (p.60).   

 This course had made me realize that there is no right or wrong way to teach or learn a concept. Even though no two people learn the exact same way, it is okay for an individual to learn using numerous learning styles. I learned that in one lesson a student can master the concept through music, while needing concrete materials to master another. I learn  concepts in different ways I find that I use at some point all of the multiple intelligences. I am intrinsically motivated I have a drive to succeed and I will go the extra mile to ensure that I tray different ways to understand a given concept as I feel I need to have full understanding in order to move on.                

I have learned that we need to know one’s learning style and our own understanding which method enables us to perform at our fullest. According Felder et al. (2002), “people have different learning styles that are reflected in different academic strengths, weaknesses, skills, and interests. Understanding learning style differences is thus an important step in designing balanced instruction that is effective for all students” (p. 3). I learned that motivation can be either intrinsic or extrinsic, whichever way that makes us want to learn or keep us motivated we need to realize that at the end of the lesson there is going to be a reward. I have come to the realization that a person’s learning style along with the way in which they interpret the information has a lot to do with their holistic success.                                                                              

Ormrod, J., Schunk, D., & Gredler, M. (2009) ‘The human brain is an incredibly complex mechanism, and researchers have a long way to go in understanding how it works and why it doesn’t always work as well as it should. Yet they have made considerable progress in the past two decades, and their knowledge about brain anatomy and physiology grown by leaps and bounds everywhere.’p.28. I know and understand how my brain works and how much I can handle, with this in mind I have a drive for success as I know that I can and I will accomplish all my goals as the drive for success comes from within.     

  This course has opened my eyes and refreshed my memory to the multiple intelligences and to recognize and remember that as a teacher it is not a one size fits all, and I need to allow my students to learn in ways that suites their needs and focus on their development. I have learned how to interact with my students through blogs which was something new for me. This is a creative and innovative way to share knowledge and I intend to share what I have learned and continue to research and make contributions to the world through social networking. I am and has always been a lover of technology I will continue to learn new ways to impart knowledge as well as to embrace technology as it is the way of the future.

 

 Reference

 

Armstrong, T. (2009). Multiple intelligences in the classroom (3rd Ed.). Alexandria, VA: Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development. Available in the Walden Library databases.

Foley, G. (Ed.). (2004). Dimensions of adult learning: Adult education and training in a global era. McGraw-Hill Education.

Kim, B. (2001). Social constructivism. In M. Orey (Ed.), Emerging perspectives on learning, teaching, and technology. Retrieved from http://projects.coe.uga.edu/epltt/index.php?title=Social_Constructivism

Ormrod, J., Schunk, D., & Gredler, M. (2009). Learning theories and instruction (Laureate custom edition). New York: Pearson.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Learning Theories Reflection

  1. Aneesah says:

    I look forward to working with you. I am very interested in using the blog piece again and seeing how it will enhance my understanding about distance learning . I am excited about incorporating some of the skills from the previous course into this class. Aneesah

Leave a Reply

