Defining Distance Learning

Distance learning in my opinion can be defined as corresponding with lecturers, students virtually to complete a course. I have seen a course prior to starting this course where the student read the text and took a test when they felt they have read enough to answer the online questions relating to the quiz. I believe that the definition for distance learning constantly changes as people are finding new ways each learning to make distance learning acceptable and recognizable as a great option for learning.

Before I started this course I thought that the books would be shipped to me, I would then complete the required readings after which I would take an online quiz. I did not expect that I would be interacting with the students and the lecturers the way that I do on a weekly basis.

I have learned that distance education acts like ant education, which is established as a learning group, this sometimes called a learning community, and it provides a convenient, enriching learning experience fueled by technological methods through virtual interaction. Simonson, M., Smaldino, S., Albright, M., & Zvacek, S. (2012).  Distance learning continues to expand and continues to grow as a choice for adults who are simply too busy to sit in the traditional classroom.

Learning about distance learning in this week’s class has influenced my personal definition as I know have a better understanding of what distance learning is and have created a new definition. Distance learning based on my new found information can be defined as learning through virtual interaction with students and lecturers all having a common goal which is to gain new information on concepts unclear. Distance learning is convenient offer a virtually enriched environment to achieve your goals. Working online involves so much interaction with lectures and colleagues except it is all done at our own convenience.

I believe that I will always be a teacher there is nothing that could see myself doing, I enjoy working with the students. In the future would love to incorporate distance learning as a part of my routine. I would love working in an organization where I still feel like I am helping someone learn a concepts regardless if it going to be done virtually.

 

Reference

Simonson, M., Smaldino, S., Albright, M., & Zvacek, S. (2012). Teaching and learning at a

            distance: Foundations of distance education (5th ed.) Boston, MA: Pearson.

Leave a Reply

